contact adeo Travel logo

ORKNEY EXPlORER

Journey through the untamed Northern Highlands and cross the chilly Waters of the North Sea to reach Orkney, home to a treasure trove of natural landscapes and heritage sites. Unearth some of the best-preserved historic and prehistoric sites in Europe, including the Viking village at Maeshowe, the Norman era St Magnus Cathedral, ancient stone-circles such as the Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae, a village which pre-dates the pyramids of Egypt!

homeHOMEarrowSMALL GROUP TOURSarrowORKNEY EXPLORER

keyfeatures
KEY FEATURES

Duration:
3 days / 2 nights

Regions visited:
Scottish Islands

Start point:
Inverness

End point:
Inverness

Customizable:
No

Additional information:
Maximum group size 18 passengers.

contactus
CONTACT US

UK international:
+44 (0)2921 660 747

US toll-free:
1-866-209-4554

Email:
info@adeotravel.com

 

ITINERARY

smallgroupSmall group tour: Orkney Explorer

DAY ONE

The Northern Highlands and Kirkwall, Capital of Orkney

Commencing in Inverness we get an early start today to head in to Scotland's far Northern Highlands. Leaving behind the 'Capital of the Highlands' we cross over the Black Isle and into some of Scotland's most dramatic scenery and through some of Europe's oldest landscapes offering the chance to see wildlife such as golden eagles and red deer. We pass through Scotland's most northerly mainland village, John o' Groats, and then to Gills Bay, where we board the ferry, crossing the Pentland Firth into the Orkney Archipelago. From here it's a short drive to the famous Italian Chapel where you may get the chance to stop for a visit before continuing to the Viking stronghold of Kirkwall, Capital of Orkney.

accommodationOvernight: Kirkwall, Orkney.

attractionsHighlights: John O'Groats, crossing the Pentland Firth, the famous Italian Chapel and the Viking stronghold of Kirkwall.

DAY TWO

Orkney's Prehistoric Sites and Stone-Circles

Orkney Explorer Tour - Skara Brae

Castle Stalker, Scotland

Our day today is dedicated to exploring this ancient and enchanting island; a land of contrasts we'll see fertile green pastures fringed by shores of golden sands washed by the icy waters of the North Sea and Atlantic Ocean. We'll discover pre-history with a visit to the 5,000-year-old village of Skara Brae (older than the Pyramids of Egypt!), the mystical prehistoric stone circle at Brodgar and the Neothilic standing stones of Stenness. Our journey also takes us to Maeshowe, where in the 12th century the Vikings left one of the largest collections of Norse runic inscriptions. By evening we head back to Kirkwall for our overnight stay.

accommodationOvernight: Kirkwall, Orkney.

attractionsHighlights: Skara Brae, stone circle at Brodgar and the standing stones of Stennes.

DAY THREE

Kirkwall, Dunrobin Castle and Inverness

This morning enjoy your last chance to grab some gifts from Kirkwall for your friends and family; a stroll quick stroll will offer a chance to see Kirkwall's magnificent Viking Cathedral and its historic winding streets. After a short drive to the picturesque town of St Margaret's Hope, we'll hop on a ferry back to the mainland. Once we're off the ferry you travel through the history-soaked region of Sutherland. Here you'll find out about the highland clearances, get a glimpse of some Scotland's most remote fishing villages and see the imperious Dunrobin Castle. We arrive back in Inverness early evening.

attractionsHighlights: Kirkwall's Viking Cathedral, the picturesque town of St Margaret's and views of Dunrobin Castle.

MAP

Orkney Explorer tour - Scotland escorted small group tour

INCLUSIONS

smallgroupSmall group tours: Orkney Explorer

WHAT'S INCLUDED

  • 2 nights' accommodation (choice of B&B/Guest House or Hotel*).
  • Full Scottish breakfast each morning.
  • All transportation by luxury mini-coach.
  • Ferry crossings as required.
  • Maximum group-size of 18 passengers for that intimate touring experience.
  • Services of a professional driver/guide.
  • Expert local advice during the planning of your trip.
  • Postage of your vacation documents pack.

arrowEXCLUDES

  • Attraction entry / attraction admission (this tour focuses on providing free time in various locations and allows you to choose which sites/attractions you may want to see during your visit).

arrowOPTIONAL EXTRAS

  • Pre or post tour hotel accommodation in Inverness.
  • Rail travel or passes for transport to/from inverness before after the tour.
  • Airport transfers or transport to/from London airports before or after your tour.

* Please Note: All accommodation is minimum 3* rated (hotel rated) and guarantees private / en-suite bathroom facilities. For the tour section of this package specific accommodation is selected and allocated after confirmation of your booking. As this tour offers a choice of accommodation type the tour group may not all stay in the same establishment.

Enquire now

PRICING

smallgroupSmall group tours: Orkney Explorer

arrowDEPARTURE DATES 2017

START DAY
(in Edinburgh)
END DAY
(in Edinburgh)
B&B OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
HOTEL OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
Mon 03 Apr, 2017 Wed 05 Apr, 2017 £275 £345
Mon 10 Apr, 2017 Wed 12 Apr, 2017 £275 £345
Mon 17 Apr, 2017 Wed 19 Apr, 2017 £275 £345
Mon 24 Apr, 2017 Wed 26 Apr, 2017 £275 £345
Mon 01 May, 2017 Wed 03 May, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 08 May, 2017 Wed 10 May, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 15 May, 2017 Wed 17 May, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 22 May, 2017 Wed 24 May, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 29 May, 2017 Wed 31 May, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 05 Jun, 2017 Wed 07 Jun, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 12 Jun, 2017 Wed 14 Jun, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 19 Jun, 2017 Wed 21 Jun, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 26 Jun, 2017 Wed 28 Jun, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 03 Jul, 2017 Wed 05 Jul, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 10 Jul, 2017 Wed 12 Jul, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 17 Jul, 2017 Wed 19 Jul, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 24 Jul, 2017 Wed 26 Jul, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 31 Jul, 2017 Wed 02 Aug, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 07 Aug, 2017 Wed 09 Aug, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 14 Aug, 2017 Wed 16 Aug, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 21 Aug, 2017 Wed 23 Aug, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 28 Aug, 2017 Wed 30 Aug, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 04 Sep, 2017 Wed 06 Sep, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 11 Sep, 2017 Wed 13 Sep, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 18 Sep, 2017 Wed 20 Sep, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 25 Sep, 2017 Wed 27 Sep, 2017 £295 £369
Mon 02 Oct, 2017 Wed 04 Oct, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 09 Oct, 2017 Wed 11 Oct, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 16 Oct, 2017 Wed 18 Oct, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 23 Oct, 2017 Wed 25 Oct, 2017 £285 £359
Mon 30 Oct, 2017 Wed 01 Nov, 2017 £285 £359

Single supplements apply for single occupancy rooms, please ask for a quotation for details.

This tour starts in Inverness at 8am on the first day of travel and returns to Inverness in the evening on the final day of travel. If you require pre or post tour accommodation in central Inverness, please let us know.

arrowPRICING NOTES

  • Prices are per person based on two people sharing a twin/double room.
  • Prices are for land only tours and all tours are subject to availability.
  • Prices are correct at the time of publishing to website but are subject to confirmation at time of booking.
  • Prices are in GBP£ currency for approximate amounts in other currencies please contact us.
  • All trip details are correct at time of publishing to website however due to the nature of small group tours the itinerary is flexible and is subject to change based on a variety of factors.

Enquire now

adeo Travel is BritAgent certified100% financial protection2016 Year of Innovation, Architecture and DesignVisit Wales supplier

Website designed and created by Chunky Crayon