contact adeo Travel logo

ORKNEY AND THE FAR NORTH

Escape to Scotland's northern extremes on a tour to treasure for a lifetime. In five days you'll explore the remote and rugged landscapes and coasts of the northern Highlands and the magical beauty and prehistoric history of the Orkney islands. Other highlights include Loch Ness and the Caledonian forests of the Cairngorm National Park.

homeHOMEarrowSMALL GROUP TOURSarrowORKNEY AND THE FAR NORTH

keyfeatures
KEY FEATURES

Duration:
5 days / 4 nights

Regions visited:
Scottish Highlands and Islands

Start point:
Edinburgh

End point:
Edinburgh

Customizable:
No

Additional information:
Maximum group size 18 passengers.

contactus
CONTACT US

UK international:
+44 (0)2921 660 747

US toll-free:
1-866-209-4554

Email:
[email protected]

 

ITINERARY

smallgroupSmall group tour: Orkney and the Far North

DAY ONE

Loch Ness and Inverness

Orkney and the Far North - Inverness

Inverness Scotland

Departing Edinburgh we have views of Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument and pass Doune Castle (set of Monty Python's "Holy Grail") before stopping in the small town of Callander on the edge of the Trossachs National Park. Then cross over the fault line into the magnificent Highlands taking in the splendour of Loch Luibnaig, Loch Earn, Glen Ogle and Glen Dochart, as you travel over the wild and remote Rannoch Moor into Glencoe. The stunning views and spectacular landscapes of our own super (extinct) volcano and scene of the infamous massacre of the Clan Macdonald in 1692. Continuing north we follow the Great Glen to the mysterious beauty of Loch Ness and travel the whole 23 mile length of the famous Loch - plenty of time to try and spot "Nessie!" You arrive at your destination of Inverness at approximately 6.30pm and the evening is yours to explore the 'Capital of the Highlands'.

accommodationOvernight: Inverness

attractionsHighlights: Stirling Views, Doune Castle, the Torssachs National Park, Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, the Great Glen and Inverness.

DAY TWO

The Northern Highlands, John O' Groats and Kirkwall

This morning we continue north leaving behind the 'Capital of the Highlands', crossing over the Black Isle, and past Andrew Carnegie's Skibo Castle. From here you drive through the northeast Highland coastline, travelling into some of Scotland's most dramatic scenery and coastlines, and enjoy amazing views of some of Europe's oldest landscapes with the chance to spot wildlife such as Golden Eagles and red deer. Onwards through Scotland's most northerly mainland village, John o' Groats, and then to Gills Bay, where we board the ferry, crossing the Pentland Firth into the Orkney Archipelago. From here it is a short drive to the famous Italian Chapel where we stop for a visit before continuing to the Viking stronghold of Kirkwall, capital of Orkney and your base for 2 nights. Here you can visit Kirkwall's magnificent Viking Cathedral and its historic winding streets.

accommodationOvernight: Kirkwall, Orkney

attractionsHighlights: The North East Coast, the Scottish Highlands, John O'Groats, Isle of Orkney and Kirkwall.

DAY THREE

The Isle of Orkney, Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar

Orkney and the Far North - Skara Brae

Skara Brae, Orkney, Scotland

Today we explore this enchanting, ancient island; a land of contrasts where fertile green pastures are fringed by shores of golden sands washed by the turbulent waters of the North Sea and Atlantic ocean. First we visit the UNESCO World Heritage site at Skara Brae, a 5000 year-old village which pre-dates even the Pyramids of Egypt, before journeying onward to the mystical prehistoric stone circle at Brodgar and the Druidic standing stones of Stenness. After a stop in Stromness - one of Scotland's most picturesque seaboard villages, we continue to Maeshowe, where in the 12th century the Vikings left one of the largest collections of Norse runic inscriptions waiting to be discovered. After an enchanting day we return to Kirkwall for your overnight stay.

accommodationOvernight: Kirkwall, Orkney

attractionsHighlights: Italian Chapel, Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, Maeshowe and Stromness.

DAY FOUR

The Northern Coast, Assynt Mountains and Ardvreck Castle

This morning we depart Orkney and sail the Viking waters back to the mainland where we travel the old road right across the very top of Scotland, driving past the stunning Ben Loyal and Ben Hope mountains and following the rocky cliffs and stunning golden sand beaches of our northern coastline. We explore the far northwest highlands and the grandeur, expanse and wilderness of the mountains of Assynt before stopping to view the 15th century ruins of Ardvreck Castle. From here we head to Ullapool, situated at the mouth of Loch Broom, a beautiful whitewashed fishing village where we spend the final night of our tour.

accommodationOvernight: Ullapool

attractionsHighlights: The Northern Highlands, Assynt Mountains, Ardvreck Castle and Ullapool.

DAY FIVE

Coorieshalloch Gorge, Culloden Moor and Clava Cairns

Orkney and the Far North - Culloden Moor

Culloden Moor, Scotland

Continuing south, we take in the drama of the River Droma as it plunges 60m down into Corrieshalloch Gorge, before taking in the beautiful Loch Glascarnoch, on the way back past Inverness. We then visit Culloden Moor, the site of The Battle of Culloden in 1746, one of the bloodiest events in our history and the last battle to have been fought on the British mainland, before taking a short drive to the ancient standing stones at Clava Cairns. This prehistoric and stunning Bronze Age burial ground is one of the oldest in Scotland. From here we return south through the ancient Caledonian Pine Forest, hugging the Cairngorm mountain range on route to Edinburgh where your tour ends at approximately 7pm.

attractionsHighlights: Corrieshalloch Gorge, Culloden Moor, Clava Cairns, The Grampian Mountains and Perthshire.

MAP

Orkney and the Far North - Scotland escorted small group tour

INCLUSIONS

smallgroupSmall group tours: Orkney and the Far North

arrowUNIQUE FEATURES

  • 4 nights accommodation (choice of B&B/Guest House or Hotel*).
  • Full Scottish breakfast each morning.
  • All transportation by luxury mini-coach.
  • Return ferry crossing to Orkney.
  • Maximum group-size of 16 passengers for that intimate touring experience.
  • Services of a professional driver/guide.
  • Expert local advice during the planning of your trip.
  • Postage of your vacation documents pack.

arrowEXCLUDES

  • Attraction entry / attraction admission (this tour focuses on providing free time in various locations and allows you to choose which sites/attractions you may want to see during your visit).

arrowOPTIONAL EXTRAS

  • Pre or post tour hotel accommodation in Edinburgh.
  • Airport transfers or transport to/from Edinburgh before/after your tour.
  • Onward rail travel to destination throughout Britain.

* Please Note: All accommodation is minimum 3* rated (guest accommodation or hotel rated) and guarantees private / en-suite bathroom facilities. Specific accommodation is selected and allocated after confirmation of your booking. As this tour offers a choice of accommodation type the tour group do not all stay in the same establishment.

Enquire now

PRICING

smallgroupSmall group tours: Orkney and the Far North

arrowDEPARTURE DATES 2017

START DAY
(in Edinburgh)
END DAY
(in Edinburgh)
B&B OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
HOTEL OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
Fri 07 Apr, 2017 Tue 11 Apr, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 14 Apr, 2017 Tue 18 Apr, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 21 Apr, 2017 Tue 25 Apr, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 23 Apr, 2017 Thu 27 Apr, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 28 Apr, 2017 Tue 02 May, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 30 Apr, 2017 Thu 04 May, 2017 £545 £659
Wed 03 May, 2017 Sun 07 May, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 05 May, 2017 Tue 09 May, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 07 May, 2017 Thu 11 May, 2017 £545 £659
Wed 10 May, 2017 Sun 14 May, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 12 May, 2017 Tue 16 May, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 14 May, 2017 Thu 18 May, 2017 £545 £659
Wed 17 May, 2017 Sun 21 May, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 19 May, 2017 Tue 23 May, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 21 May, 2017 Thu 25 May, 2017 £545 £659
Wed 24 May, 2017 Sun 28 May, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 26 May, 2017 Tue 30 May, 2017 £545 £659
Sun 28 May, 2017 Thu 01 Jun, 2017 £545 £659
Wed 31 May, 2017 Sun 04 Jun, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 02 Jun, 2017 Tue 06 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 04 Jun, 2017 Thu 08 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 07 Jun, 2017 Sun 11 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 09 Jun, 2017 Tue 13 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 11 Jun, 2017 Thu 15 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 14 Jun, 2017 Sun 18 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 23 Jun, 2017 Tue 27 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 25 Jun, 2017 Thu 29 Jun, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 28 Jun, 2017 Sun 02 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 30 Jun, 2017 Tue 04 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 02 Jul, 2017 Thu 06 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 05 Jul, 2017 Sun 09 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 07 Jul, 2017 Tue 11 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 09 Jul, 2017 Thu 13 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 12 Jul, 2017 Sun 16 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 14 Jul, 2017 Tue 18 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 16 Jul, 2017 Thu 20 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 19 Jul, 2017 Sun 23 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 21 Jul, 2017 Tue 25 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 23 Jul, 2017 Thu 27 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 26 Jul, 2017 Sun 30 Jul, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 28 Jul, 2017 Tue 01 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 30 Jul, 2017 Thu 03 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 02 Aug, 2017 Sun 06 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 04 Aug, 2017 Tue 08 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 06 Aug, 2017 Thu 10 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 09 Aug, 2017 Sun 13 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 11 Aug, 2017 Tue 15 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 13 Aug, 2017 Thu 17 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 16 Aug, 2017 Sun 20 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 18 Aug, 2017 Tue 22 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 20 Aug, 2017 Thu 24 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 23 Aug, 2017 Sun 27 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 25 Aug, 2017 Tue 29 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 27 Aug, 2017 Thu 31 Aug, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 30 Aug, 2017 Sun 03 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 01 Sep, 2017 Tue 05 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 03 Sep, 2017 Thu 07 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 06 Sep, 2017 Sun 10 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 08 Sep, 2017 Tue 12 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 10 Sep, 2017 Thu 14 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 13 Sep, 2017 Sun 17 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 15 Sep, 2017 Tue 19 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 17 Sep, 2017 Thu 21 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 20 Sep, 2017 Sun 24 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 22 Sep, 2017 Tue 26 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Sun 24 Sep, 2017 Thu 28 Sep, 2017 £585 £685
Wed 27 Sep, 2017 Sun 01 Oct, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 29 Sep, 2017 Tue 03 Oct, 2017 £585 £685
Fri 06 Oct, 2017 Tue 10 Oct, 2017 £545 £659
Fri 13 Oct, 2017 Tue 17 Oct, 2017 £545 £659

Single supplements apply for single occupancy rooms, please ask for a quotation for details.

This tour starts at 8.30am on the first day of travel and returns around 7pm on the final day of travel. If you require pre or post tour accommodation in central Edinburgh, please let us know.

arrowPRICING NOTES

  • Prices are per person based on two people sharing a twin/double room.
  • Prices are for land only tours and all tours are subject to availability.
  • Prices are correct at the time of publishing to website but are subject to confirmation at time of booking.
  • Prices are in British Pounds Sterling (GBP£) currency for approximate amounts in other currencies please contact us.
  • All trip details are correct at time of publishing to website however due to the nature of small group tours the itinerary is flexible and is subject to change based on a variety of factors.

Enquire now

adeo Travel is BritAgent certified100% financial protection2016 Year of Innovation, Architecture and DesignVisit Wales supplier

Website designed and created by Chunky Crayon