contact adeo Travel logo

IONA, MULL AND THE ISLE OF SKYE

Spend five days exploring four of Scotland's magical Inner Hebrides Islands including enchanting Mull, spiritual Iona, tiny Staffa and the romantic beauty of the Isle of Skye. Highlights also include the Loch Lomond National Park, Oban town and the West Coast, Eilean Donan Castle, the Glenfinnan Viaduct, the White sands of Morar, Glencoe and Loch Ness.

homeHOMEarrowSMALL GROUP TOURSarrowIONA, MULL AND THE ISLE OF SKYE

keyfeatures
KEY FEATURES

Duration:
5 days / 4 nights

Regions visited:
Scottish Highlands and Islands

Start point:
Edinburgh

End point:
Edinburgh

Customizable:
No

Additional information:
Maximum group size 16 passengers.

contactus
CONTACT US

UK international:
+44 (0)2921 660 747

US toll-free:
1-866-209-4554

Email:
[email protected]

 

ITINERARY

smallgroupSmall group tour: Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye

DAY ONE

Loch Lomond, Inveraray and Oban

Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye Tour - Loch Lomond

Loch Lomond, Scotland

Departing Edinburgh we head north past Stirling castle and then west to Scotland's first National Park around Loch Lomond, and her bonny banks. Passing through the towering mountains of West Highlands we enjoy the magnificent white-washed 18th Century town of Inveraray, home to the Campbell Clan and the Duke of Argyll. The afternoon will be spent in the heart of Argyll exploring the area close to the ancient Kingdom of Dalriada before arriving in bustling harbour town of Oban, known as the "gateway to the islands", which will be your base for the next two nights.

accommodationOvernight: Oban

attractionsHighlights: Stirling Views, Loch Lomond National Park, Inveraray, Argyll and Oban Town.

DAY TWO

The Isle of Mull, Iona and Iona Abbey and Staffa

Today we take the early ferry crossing to the magical Isle of Mull and head through her wild landscapes, natural beauty and along her dramatic coastlines to the most southerly point. Here we take the small passenger ferry to the peace and tranquillity of Iona - birthplace of Celtic Christianity and ancient burial ground of Scottish Kings. Here you can visit the historic abbey with its intricate carved crosses in the churchyard or explore the rocky headlands and sandy coves of this island gem. There is also an opportunity to take a small boat out to the island of Staffa (except Saturday departures in September) and view the dramatic basalt columns immortalised by Mendelssohn in his Hebridean Overture "Fingal's Cave". You then return on the ferry to Oban for your second night.

accommodationOvernight: Oban

attractionsHighlights: Isle of Mull, Isle of Iona and Iona Abbey.

DAY THREE

The West Coast, Glencoe and Plockton Village

Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye Tour - Caste Stalker

Castle Stalker, Scotland

Today we travel north along the stunning west coast around Appin, passing the impregnable Castle Stalker, and Glencoe, scene of the infamous massacre of the Clan Macdonald in 1692. Passing along the Ballachulish coast and through the bustling town of Fort William we pass in the shadow of Ben Nevis which at 1344 meters is the highest mountain in the British Isles. We then continue our scenic route as we travel up the course of the Great Glen, a natural fault in the earth's crust that runs through the heart of Scotland and on through to Ireland. From here we cross the Northern Highlands to the picturesque fishing village of Plockton on the far North West coast. You are then dropped off at your accommodation in the early evening.

accommodationOvernight: Plockton Village, Highlands

attractionsHighlights: Glencoe, Fort William, Scottish Highlands and Plockton Village .

DAY FOUR

The Natural Beauty of the Isle of Skye

Today's itinerary exploring this magical island is flexible dependent on the preferences of the group and the travel conditions of the day and your driver/guide's local knowledge will come to the fore in developing the best day-out for you. A journey north to the stunning Quiraing mountain pass will offer spectacular walks through Skye's extraordinary geological scenery such as Kilt Rock, composed of basalt columns (reminiscent of the pleats in a kilt) with its waterfall cascading over the cliffs or the "Old Man of Storr". Travelling to the West of the Island you can see Neist Point for a stroll to the lighthouse at the islands most westerly point where you may catch a glimpse of whales or sharks in the waters below. Alternatively a visit to Dunvegan Castle, ancient ancestral seat of the Clan McLeod, or Talisker Distillery make excellent cultural stops. We return to your accommodation in Plockton in the late afternoon for you to enjoy a free evening in the village.

accommodationOvernight: Plockton Village, Highlands

attractionsHighlights: Portree Town, Isle of Skye, the Trotternish Peninsula, Neist Point, Dunvegan Castle and Talisker Distillery.

DAY FIVE

Loch Ness and the Grampian Mountains

You will be collected from your accommodation and travel east where you will take in the stunning views over Loch Duich and the 5 Sisters of Kintail. Continue on to Loch Ness for lunch and the possibility of spotting "Nessie". Heading south now through the Grampian Mountains along Loch Laggan, made famous now as "Monarch of the Glen Country" before passing Dalwhinnie, home to Scotland's highest whisky Distillery, and onwards into Highland Perthshire before heading back to Edinburgh over the Forth Road Bridge.

attractionsHighlights: Eilean Donan Castle, Loch Ness, the Great Glen the Grampian Mountains and the Firth of Forth.

* On Monday departures this tour may overnight for two nights in Portree instead of Plockton.

MAP

Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye - Scotland escorted small group tour

INCLUSIONS

smallgroupSmall group tours: Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye

arrowUNIQUE FEATURES

  • 4 nights accommodation (choice of B&B/Guest House or Hotel*).
  • Full Scottish Breakfast each morning.
  • All transportation by luxury mini-coach.
  • Return ferry crossings to Isle of Mull and Isle of Iona.
  • Maximum group-size of 16 passengers for that intimate touring experience.
  • Services of a professional driver/guide.
  • Expert local advice during the planning of your trip.
  • Postage of your vacation documents pack.

arrowEXCLUDES

  • Attraction entry / attraction admission (this tour focuses on providing free time in various locations and allows you to choose which sites/attractions you may want to see during your visit).

arrowOPTIONAL EXTRAS

  • Pre or post tour hotel accommodation in Edinburgh.
  • Airport transfers or transport to/from Edinburgh before/after your tour.
  • Onward rail travel to destination throughout Britain.

* Please Note: All accommodation is minimum 3* rated (guest accommodation or hotel rated) and guarantees private / en-suite bathroom facilities. Specific accommodation is selected and allocated after confirmation of your booking. As this tour offers a choice of accommodation type the tour group do not all stay in the same establishment.

Enquire now

PRICING

smallgroupSmall group tours: Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye

arrowDEPARTURE DATES 2017

START DAY
(in Edinburgh)
END DAY
(in Edinburgh)
B&B OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
HOTEL OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
Mon 27 Mar, 2017 Fri 31 Mar, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 03 Apr, 2017 Fri 07 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 10 Apr, 2017 Fri 14 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 17 Apr, 2017 Fri 21 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 19 Apr, 2017 Sun 23 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 24 Apr, 2017 Fri 28 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 26 Apr, 2017 Sun 30 Apr, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 01 May, 2017 Fri 05 May, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 03 May, 2017 Sun 07 May, 2017 £569 £655
Sat 06 May, 2017 Wed 10 May, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 08 May, 2017 Fri 12 May, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 10 May, 2017 Sun 14 May, 2017 £569 £655
Sat 13 May, 2017 Wed 17 May, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 15 May, 2017 Fri 19 May, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 17 May, 2017 Sun 21 May, 2017 £569 £655
Sat 20 May, 2017 Wed 24 May, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 22 May, 2017 Fri 26 May, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 24 May, 2017 Sun 28 May, 2017 £569 £655
Sat 27 May, 2017 Wed 31 May, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 29 May, 2017 Fri 02 Jun, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 31 May, 2017 Sun 04 Jun, 2017 £569 £655
Sat 03 Jun, 2017 Wed 07 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 05 Jun, 2017 Fri 09 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 07 Jun, 2017 Sun 11 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 10 Jun, 2017 Wed 14 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 12 Jun, 2017 Fri 16 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 14 Jun, 2017 Sun 18 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 17 Jun, 2017 Wed 21 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 19 Jun, 2017 Fri 23 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 21 Jun, 2017 Sun 25 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 24 Jun, 2017 Wed 28 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 26 Jun, 2017 Fri 30 Jun, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 28 Jun, 2017 Sun 02 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 01 Jul, 2017 Wed 05 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 03 Jul, 2017 Fri 07 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 05 Jul, 2017 Sun 09 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 08 Jul, 2017 Wed 12 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 10 Jul, 2017 Fri 14 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 12 Jul, 2017 Sun 16 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 15 Jul, 2017 Wed 19 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 17 Jul, 2017 Fri 21 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 19 Jul, 2017 Sun 23 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 22 Jul, 2017 Wed 26 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 24 Jul, 2017 Fri 28 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 26 Jul, 2017 Sun 30 Jul, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 29 Jul, 2017 Wed 02 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 31 Jul, 2017 Fri 04 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 02 Aug, 2017 Sun 06 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 05 Aug, 2017 Wed 09 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 07 Aug, 2017 Fri 11 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 09 Aug, 2017 Sun 13 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 12 Aug, 2017 Wed 16 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 14 Aug, 2017 Fri 18 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 16 Aug, 2017 Sun 20 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 19 Aug, 2017 Wed 23 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 21 Aug, 2017 Fri 25 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 23 Aug, 2017 Sun 27 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 26 Aug, 2017 Wed 30 Aug, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 28 Aug, 2017 Fri 01 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 30 Aug, 2017 Sun 03 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 02 Sep, 2017 Wed 06 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 04 Sep, 2017 Fri 08 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 06 Sep, 2017 Sun 10 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 09 Sep, 2017 Wed 13 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 11 Sep, 2017 Fri 15 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 13 Sep, 2017 Sun 17 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 16 Sep, 2017 Wed 20 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 18 Sep, 2017 Fri 22 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 20 Sep, 2017 Sun 24 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Sat 23 Sep, 2017 Wed 27 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 25 Sep, 2017 Fri 29 Sep, 2017 £595 £669
Wed 27 Sep, 2017 Sun 01 Oct, 2017 £595 £669
Mon 02 Oct, 2017 Fri 06 Oct, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 04 Oct, 2017 Sun 08 Oct, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 09 Oct, 2017 Fri 13 Oct, 2017 £569 £655
Wed 11 Oct, 2017 Sun 15 Oct, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 16 Oct, 2017 Fri 20 Oct, 2017 £569 £655
Mon 23 Oct, 2017 Fri 27 Oct, 2017 £569 £655

Single supplements apply for single occupancy rooms, please ask for a quotation for details.

This tour starts at 9am on the first day of travel and returns around 7pm on the final day of travel. If you require pre or post tour accommodation in central Edinburgh, please let us know.

arrowPRICING NOTES

  • Prices are per person based on two people sharing a twin/double room.
  • Prices are for land only tours and all tours are subject to availability.
  • Prices are correct at the time of publishing to website but are subject to confirmation at time of booking.
  • Prices are in British Pounds Sterling (GBP£) currency for approximate amounts in other currencies please contact us.
  • All trip details are correct at time of publishing to website however due to the nature of small group tours the itinerary is flexible and is subject to change based on a variety of factors.

Enquire now

adeo Travel is BritAgent certified100% financial protection2016 Year of Innovation, Architecture and DesignVisit Wales supplier

Website designed and created by Chunky Crayon