contact adeo Travel logo

HIGHLAND EXPLORER TOUR

Five days exploring Scotland at its breathtaking best; touring the remote northern Highlands and the Isle of Skye you'll experience the mountain landscapes of Assynt and the Cuillins as well as the contrasting coastal scenery of the Highlands from dramatic cliffs to deserted white sandy bays. Other highlights include the ancient pine forests of the Cairngorm National Park and Inverness capital of the Highlands.

homeHOMEarrowSMALL GROUP TOURSarrowHIGHLAND EXPLORER TOUR

keyfeatures
KEY FEATURES

Duration:
5 days / 4 nights

Regions visited:
Scottish Highlands

Start point:
Edinburgh

End point:
Edinburgh

Customizable:
No

Additional information:
Maximum group size 18 passengers.

contactus
CONTACT US

UK international:
+44 (0)2921 660 747

US toll-free:
1-866-209-4554

Email:
[email protected]

 

ITINERARY

smallgroupSmall group tour: Highland Explorer Tour

DAY ONE

Dunkeld, the Cairngorm National Park and Loch Ness

Departing Edinburgh we head north over the Forth Road Bridge to the charming highland village of Dunkeld on the banks of the river Tay. From here you head into the Cairngorm national park of central Scotland and the ancient pine forests of the Rothiemurchus estate. Lunchtime will be spent on the beautiful shores of Loch Insh before a short forest walk takes you to the ruins of Loch an Eilean castle. Panoramic views of Loch Ness follow as you travel down to the banks of the famous loch and the village of Dores where you can do some "Nessie" spotting! Then it's on to the shores of Loch Broom where you spend two nights at Ullapool.*

accommodationOvernight: Ullapool (or Inverness)*

attractionsHighlights: Dunkeld, Cairngorm National Park, Loch Ness and Dores.

DAY TWO

The far Northwest Highlands, Ardvreck Castle and Assynt

Today we explore the remote far northwest highlands and the grandeur, expanse and wildness of the mountains of Assynt with its abundance of wildlife. This area is historically famous as being the first crofting area to be bought by the local crofters, the Assynt Crofters' Trust. You will be immersed in the history of the area and visit the 15th century ruins of Ardvreck Castle, once the stronghold of the MacLeods of Assynt. The day is full of amazing views of some of Europe's oldest landscapes from the stunning white sand beach at Achmelvich Bay to the traditional fishing village of Lochinver. With the chance of seeing wildlife such as whales and red deer as well, this is sure to be a memorable day.

accommodationOvernight: Ullapool (or Inverness)

attractionsHighlights: The Northern Highlands, Assynt Mountains, Ardvreck Castle and Lochinver Village.

DAY THREE

Corrieshalloch Gorge, Loch Torridon and Plockton

Highland Explorer Tour - Portree

Portree, Isle of Skye, Scotland

This morning we journey to the heart of the northern Highlands to take in the drama of the River Droma as it plunges 60m down into the Corrieshalloch Gorge. From here you travel past the mountains of the Beinn Eighe national nature reserve and along the picturesque coastline of Loch Torridon. The tranquil setting of tiny village highland village Applecross is your destination for lunch before taking one of the highest roads in Scotland, Bealach nam Bo (meaning the Cattle Pass), with its jaw-dropping views, hairpin bends and precipitous cliffs. In the afternoon you stop in "tropical" Plockton where you can see palm trees growing alongside Loch Carron and take time to enjoy its sheltered serenity. Then it's over the sea to Skye and the delightful harbour town of Portree with its friendly welcome.

accommodationOvernight: Isle of Skye

attractionsHighlights: Corriesgalloch Gorge, Applecross, Loch Torridon, Plockton, Portree Town and the The Isle of Skye.

DAY FOUR

The Scenery of the Isle of Skye

Today's itinerary is flexible dependent on the preferences and interests of the group. Either way your driver/guide's knowledge will come to the fore as you spend the day exploring the islands natural beauty. You may travel north to the stunning Quiraing mountain pass and enjoy a spectacular walk through some of Skye's extraordinary geological scenery or visit the Kilt Rock, composed of basalt columns (reminiscent of the pleats in a kilt) with its waterfall cascading over the cliffs and down into the sea below. After lunch you can travel West to Neist Point for a walk out to the lighthouse at the most westerly point on Skye. Alternatively a visits to Dunvegan Castle, ancient ancestral seat of the Clan McLeod or Talisker Distillery make for interesting cultural stops. We return you to your accommodation in Portree in the late afternoon for you to enjoy a free evening in this charming harbour town.

accommodationOvernight: Isle of Skye

attractionsHighlights: Cuillin Hills, Trotternish Penincula, Neist Point and Dunvegan Castle.

DAY FIVE

Eilean Donan Castle, Ben Nevis, Fort William and Glencoe

Highland Explore Tour - Eilean Donan Castle

Eilean Donan Castle, Scotland

Returning south we stop firstly at the famous stronghold Eilean Donan Castle, used in the film "Highlander", set at the head of 3 lochs as protection against Viking raiders. Continuing east through the rugged mountains of Kintail including the splendour of the Five Sisters, we pass down through Glen Garry and Britain's highest peak at Ben Nevis. After a lunch stop in Fort William for lunch, we explore spectacular Glencoe, scene of the infamous massacre of the Clan Macdonald in 1692, before stopping in Killin for refreshments beside the Falls of Dochart. Returning to civilisation and city life your tour ends in Edinburgh at approximately 7pm.

attractionsHighlights: Eilean Donan Castle, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Glencoe Valley, Rannoch Moor and Trossachs National Park.

MAP

Highland Explorer Tour - Scotland escorted small group tour

INCLUSIONS

smallgroupSmall group tours: Highland Explorer Tour

arrowUNIQUE FEATURES

  • 4 nights accommodation (choice of B&B/Guest House or Hotel*).
  • Full Scottish breakfast each morning.
  • All transportation by luxury mini-coach.
  • Maximum group-size of 16 passengers for that intimate touring experience.
  • Services of a professional driver/guide.
  • Expert local advice during the planning of your trip.
  • Postage of your vacation documents pack.

arrowEXCLUDES

  • Attraction entry / attraction admission (this tour focuses on providing free time in various locations and allows you to choose which sites/attractions you may want to see during your visit).

arrowOPTIONAL EXTRAS

  • Pre or post tour hotel accommodation in Edinburgh.
  • Airport transfers or transport to/from Edinburgh before/after your tour.
  • Onward rail travel to destination throughout Britain.

* Please Note: All accommodation is minimum 3* rated (guest accommodation or hotel rated) and guarantees private / en-suite bathroom facilities. Specific accommodation is selected and allocated after confirmation of your booking. As this tour offers a choice of accommodation type the tour group do not all stay in the same establishment.

Enquire now

PRICING

smallgroupSmall group tours: Highland Explorer Tour

arrowDEPARTURE DATES 2017

START DAY
(in Edinburgh)
END DAY
(in Edinburgh)
B&B OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
HOTEL OPTION
(per person, sharing twin/ double)
Sat 04 Mar, 2017 Wed 08 Mar, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 11 Mar, 2017 Wed 15 Mar, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 18 Mar, 2017 Wed 22 Mar, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 25 Mar, 2017 Wed 29 Mar, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 01 Apr, 2017 Wed 05 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 08 Apr, 2017 Wed 12 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 15 Apr, 2017 Wed 19 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 18 Apr, 2017 Sat 22 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 22 Apr, 2017 Wed 26 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 25 Apr, 2017 Sat 29 Apr, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 29 Apr, 2017 Wed 03 May, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 02 May, 2017 Sat 06 May, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 06 May, 2017 Wed 10 May, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 09 May, 2017 Sat 13 May, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 13 May, 2017 Wed 17 May, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 16 May, 2017 Sat 20 May, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 20 May, 2017 Wed 24 May, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 23 May, 2017 Sat 27 May, 2017 £499 £595
Thu 25 May, 2017 Mon 29 May, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 27 May, 2017 Wed 31 May, 2017 £499 £595
Tue 30 May, 2017 Sat 03 Jun, 2017 £499 £595
Thu 01 Jun, 2017 Mon 05 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 03 Jun, 2017 Wed 07 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 06 Jun, 2017 Sat 10 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 08 Jun, 2017 Mon 12 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 10 Jun, 2017 Wed 14 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 13 Jun, 2017 Sat 17 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 15 Jun, 2017 Mon 19 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 17 Jun, 2017 Wed 21 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 20 Jun, 2017 Sat 24 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 22 Jun, 2017 Mon 26 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 24 Jun, 2017 Wed 28 Jun, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 27 Jun, 2017 Sat 01 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 29 Jun, 2017 Mon 03 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 01 Jul, 2017 Wed 05 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 04 Jul, 2017 Sat 08 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 06 Jul, 2017 Mon 10 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 08 Jul, 2017 Wed 12 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 11 Jul, 2017 Sat 15 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 13 Jul, 2017 Mon 17 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 15 Jul, 2017 Wed 19 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 18 Jul, 2017 Sat 22 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 20 Jul, 2017 Mon 24 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 22 Jul, 2017 Wed 26 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 25 Jul, 2017 Sat 29 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 27 Jul, 2017 Mon 31 Jul, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 29 Jul, 2017 Wed 02 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 01 Aug, 2017 Sat 05 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 03 Aug, 2017 Mon 07 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 05 Aug, 2017 Wed 09 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 08 Aug, 2017 Sat 12 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 10 Aug, 2017 Mon 14 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 12 Aug, 2017 Wed 16 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 15 Aug, 2017 Sat 19 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 17 Aug, 2017 Mon 21 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 19 Aug, 2017 Wed 23 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 22 Aug, 2017 Sat 26 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 24 Aug, 2017 Mon 28 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 26 Aug, 2017 Wed 30 Aug, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 29 Aug, 2017 Sat 02 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 31 Aug, 2017 Mon 04 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 02 Sep, 2017 Wed 06 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 05 Sep, 2017 Sat 09 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 07 Sep, 2017 Mon 11 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 09 Sep, 2017 Wed 13 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 12 Sep, 2017 Sat 16 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Thu 14 Sep, 2017 Mon 18 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 16 Sep, 2017 Wed 20 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 19 Sep, 2017 Sat 23 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 23 Sep, 2017 Wed 27 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Tue 26 Sep, 2017 Sat 30 Sep, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 30 Sep, 2017 Wed 04 Oct, 2017 £529 £625
Sat 07 Oct, 2017 Wed 11 Oct, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 14 Oct, 2017 Wed 18 Oct, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 21 Oct, 2017 Wed 25 Oct, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 28 Oct, 2017 Wed 01 Nov, 2017 £499 £595
Sat 04 Nov, 2017 Wed 08 Nov, 2017 £499 £595

Single supplements apply for single occupancy rooms, please ask for a quotation for details.

This tour starts at 9am on the first day of travel and returns around 7pm on the final day of travel. If you require pre or post tour accommodation in central Edinburgh, please let us know.

arrowPRICING NOTES

  • Prices are per person based on two people sharing a twin/double room.
  • Prices are for land only tours and all tours are subject to availability.
  • Prices are correct at the time of publishing to website but are subject to confirmation at time of booking.
  • Prices are in British Pounds Sterling (GBP£) currency for approximate amounts in other currencies please contact us.
  • All trip details are correct at time of publishing to website however due to the nature of small group tours the itinerary is flexible and is subject to change based on a variety of factors.

Enquire now

adeo Travel is BritAgent certified100% financial protection2016 Year of Innovation, Architecture and DesignVisit Wales supplier

Website designed and created by Chunky Crayon